Keynote Speakers

  Eric D. Green, MD, PhD
Director, National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health
  Eric D. Green, MD, PhD became the third Director of the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) in December 2009. Immediately prior to this appointment, he was the Scientific Director of NHGRI, a position he had held since 2002, and Director of the NIH Intramural Sequencing Center (NISC).  While directing an independent research program for almost two decades, Dr. Green was at the forefront of efforts to map, sequence, and understand eukaryotic genomes. His work included significant, start-to-finish involvement in the Human Genome Project; these initial efforts latter blossomed into a highly productive program in comparative genomics that provided important insights about genome structure, function, and evolution. As Director of NHGRI, Dr. Green is responsible for providing overall leadership of the Institute's research portfolio and other initiatives; this requires significant coordination with other NIH components and funding agencies. In 2011, Dr. Green led NHGRI to the completion of a strategic planning process that yielded a new vision for the future of genomics research, entitled “Charting a course for genomic medicine from base pairs to bedside” (Nature, 470:204-213. 2011).  
  Francis J. McMahon, MD
Chief, Human Genetics Branch and Genetic Basis of Mood and Anxiety Disorders Section, National Institute of Mental Health Intramural Research Program, National Institutes of Health
  Francis J. McMahon, MD joined the Mood and Anxiety Disorders Program as chief of its Genetics Unit in 2002, previously serving as Associate Professor of Psychiatry and medical director of the Electroconvulsive Therapy Clinic at the University of Chicago. Recently, Dr. McMahon was named a Mallinckrodt Scholar by the Edward F. Mallinckrodt Foundation. He also serves as a scientific advisor for the National Tourette Syndrome Association, the University of Antwerp, the RIKEN Brain Science Institute, and numerous scientific journals. Current research priorities include fine-mapping bipolar disorder susceptibility loci on chromosomes 6q, 13q, 18q, and 22q; identification of clinical features that define highly familial clinical subtypes of mood disorders; and the elucidation of parent-of-origin effects in the familial transmission of mood disorders.   


The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.