Meet Advanced Practice Psychiatric Mental Health Nurses

The following nurses are past recipients of the APNA Award for Excellence in Practice - APRN-PMH (recognizes an APNA APRN-PMH who who has made significant contributions to psychiatric-mental health nursing practice) or the APNA Award for Excellence in Leadership - APRN-PMH (honors an APRN-PMH member who has distinguished him/herself as an accomplished nursing leader). Gain insight into the career of an advanced practice psychiatric-mental health nurse and learn more about how these nurses have excelled by clicking on their names below:

Jeanne Clement Mary Conklen Pat Cunningham, APRN-PMH

Jeanne Clement

Retired from Ohio State University, Practicing Therapist

Mary Conklen

Advanced Practice Nurse with Memorial Physician Services, Vine Street Clinic (VSC)

Patricia Cunningham

Associate Professor at the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center

Kathleen Delaney Peggy Halter, APRN-PMH Lisabeth Johnston, APRN-PMH

Kathleen Delaney

Professor and Program Director for Rush University's PMH-NP Program

Peggy Halter

Associate Dean at Ashland University College of Nursing and Health Sciences in Ohio

Lisabeth Johnston

Private Practice in Connecticut

Jane Mahoney Pamela Marcus, APRN-PMH Joanne Matthew, APRN-PMH

Jane Mahoney

Director of Nursing Practice & Research at the Menninger Clinic

Pamela Marcus

Private Practice and Associate Professor of Nursing at Prince George’s Community College in Maryland

Joanne Matthew

Director of Nursing Quality and Intensive Treatment at Butler Hospital and an adjunct faculty member for the University of Rhode Island

Mary Rosedale, APRN-PMH Gail Stern, APRN-PMH Angela Thomas

Mary Rosedale

Assistant Professor at the New York University College of Nursing

Gail Stern

Administrator at Lehigh Valley Network in Pennsylvania

Angela Thomas

Psychiatric Resource Nurse at Regions Hospital

Dawn Vanderhoef    

Dawn Vanderhoef

Assistant Professor at Vanderbilt University



The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.