May 2015

Dear Colleagues:

When you vote in the APNA election, you tell 7 psychiatric-mental health nurse candidates that you believe in their vision and ability to lead. During the next sixty days, I hope that you will join your psychiatric-mental health nursing colleagues from across the nation in affirming these leaders by casting your vote in the 2015 election. 

Please click here to cast your vote. For instructions on voting online, click on Steps to Vote in the left menu. Ballots must be postmarked or electronically filed no later than July 31, 2015.

The 2015 Nominating Committee carefully selected this year’s candidates from the many impressive nominations submitted and the slate of candidates was subsequently approved by the Board of Directors. We are grateful to all of those who participated in this process and applaud those who were willing to submit their name for consideration.

To familiarize yourself with the candidates, check out the Online Election Guide or call APNA at 855-863-2762 to request a paper copy. We hope that this information will give you a feel for these members’ backgrounds, leadership styles, and contributions. As you exercise your right to vote, please also take into consideration the purpose of APNA as outlined in the bylaws (see excerpt below).

APNA members are caring, inspiring, vibrant...YOU.  Thank you for your continued support of APNA and PMHN. Let your voice be heard by casting your vote for the new leaders of your association!


Susie Adams  
Ruth Staten
Ruth R. Staten, PhD, ARNP-CS
Chair, Nominating Committee

(Adopted September 2006)


Section 1. (a) APNA provides leadership to promote psychiatric-mental health nurses, improve mental health care for culturally diverse individuals, families, groups, and communities, and shape health policy for the delivery of mental health services; (b) to make charitable contributions and grants to nonprofit organizations exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as the same may be amended or supplemented (hereinafter referred to as the “IRC”), as well as governmental units and other nonprofit organizations, that promote and further the purposes described in this Section 1 above; and (c) to exercise any other powers conferred upon Associations organized pursuant to the provisions of the Delaware General Association Law, as the same may be amended or supplemented (hereinafter referred to as the “Act”).

Section 2. The Association is organized exclusively for charitable, educational, and scientific purposes, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations exempt from federal income tax under IRC Section 501(c)(3).

Section 3. Notwithstanding any other provision of these Bylaws, the Association shall not carry on any other activities not permitted to be carried on: (i) by an Association exempt from federal income tax under IRC Section 501(c)(3); or (ii) by an Association contributions to which are deductible under IRC Section 170(c)(2).

Section 4. No substantial part of the activities of the Association shall be the carrying on of propaganda, or otherwise attempting to influence legislation, and the Association shall not participate in, or intervene in (including the publishing or distribution of statements), any political campaign on behalf of, or in opposition to, any candidate for public office.