Skip to Main Content

APNA Competency Based Training for Suicide Prevention Nursing Continuing Professional Development Information

View Upcoming Trainings
Program Objectives
  1. Discuss the phenomenology of suicide.
  2. Describe risk and protective factors related to suicide.
  3. Demonstrate self-awareness of emotional reactions, attitudes, and beliefs related to previous experiences with suicide.
  4. Perform a suicide risk assessment.
  5. Develop a collaborative safety plan with the patient/family.
  6. Perform an environmental safety assessment.
Contact Hours

Participants who complete all the following requirements will be able to earn 7.0 contact hours:

  • Register for the Competency Based Training for Suicide Prevention
  • Complete the online pre-training self-assessment
  • Attend and actively participate in all of the live training, including interactive exercises
  • Complete and pass the online post-test
  • Complete the online post-training self-assessment and overall evaluation

All of the above requirements must be completed in order to earn contact hours. No partial contact hours will be awarded.

Continuing Nursing Professional Development and Disclosures to Learner

This educational activity has been developed by the American Psychiatric Nurses Association. It consists of a live educational training which covers the 9 APNA Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Essential Competencies for Assessment and Management of Suicide Risk.
Participants will complete an evaluation at the end of the program to assess the effectiveness of their learning. Participants who successfully attend the full in-person training and complete the post-training online components that include a post-test and course evaluation will receive a CE Certificate for 7.0 contact hours. The planners and presenters of this activity have no conflict of interest to disclose.

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

Facilitator Training for the APNA Competency Based Training for Suicide Prevention

APNA holds courses for persons interested in becoming facilitators of the APNA Competency Based Training for Suicide Prevention throughout the year. For questions about the training and/or the process for becoming a facilitator, please email

Target Audience

PMH-RN Nurse Educators


In order to participate in this course, individuals must have:

  • Successfully completed the APNA Competency Based Training for Suicide Prevention
  • Two or more years’ experience working as a psychiatric-mental health nurse in a behavioral health setting
  • Teaching experience in the hospital, community or academic setting
Why become a facilitator?

Beyond the educational value and contact hours, learners who successfully complete this course are the only educators authorized to deliver the APNA Competency Based Training for Suicide Prevention. They join a prestigious group of nurses who have demonstrated competencies in facilitation of this program. They work with institutions and APNA to deliver this crucial training across the country.