The APNA Annual Awards recognize APNA members who demonstrate excellence in psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, education, research, leadership, community efforts, and more. This year's recipients will be recognized in person at the APNA 30th Annual Conference, online and in communications throughout the year.

Barbara Jones Warren Julie Carbray

Barbara Jones Warren, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, FNAP, FAAN
Worthington, OH
Psychiatric Nurse of the Year

"[Dr. Warren's] willingness to take risks in changing long established practices helped nursing toward development of recovery-based interventions."

La Grange, IL
Award for Distinguished Service

"Dr. Carbray is renowned for her innovative work as a child psychiatric nurse clinician, program manager, nurse researcher/scholar, and clinical educator in implementation research."

Joy Lauerer APNA Colorado Chapter

Joy A. Lauerer, DNP, PMHCNS-BC, RN
Folly Beach, SC
Award for Excellence in Education

“Dr. Lauerer is a wealth of knowledge...Her teaching methods foster critical thinking and creativity, and encourage self-directed learning and problem solving.”

APNA Colorado Chapter
Award for Innovation - Chapter

"The Chapter's organization and activities in this effort is an exemplars of the principles of APNA at the highest level."

Elaine Olmstead Kathy Johnson

Elaine McGrane Olmstead RN MS, PMHCNS
Acton, MA
Award for Innovation - Individual

"Elaine has held true to the ideals of community health as she joins forces with programs established to aid people at critical stages in their lives and within community based organizations."

Kathryn Johnson, MSN, PMHCNS-BC, PMHNP-BC
Santa Cruz, CA
Award for Excellence in Leadership - APRN

"Kathy Johnson is an exceptional leader...dedicated to our profession, organization, and making a difference in how care is delivered to those impacted by mental health issues."

Kristen Kichefski Jeannine Loucks

Kristen Kichefski, MSN, MBA, RN-BC
Coventry, RI
Award for Excellence in Leadership - RN

"Over the last two years, Kristen has proven herself to be an innovative thinker, with the energy and openness to new ideas."

Jeannine S. Loucks, MSN, RN-BC PMH
Villa Park, CA
Award for Media

"Jeannine Loucks has taken collaboration with first responders to an added height by developing training videos for police departments demonstrating how to work with people with psychiatric and emotional disorders in the field."

Mindy Cohen Heike Barnett

Mindy Cohen, RN, APN, CGP, DRCC, CARN
Monroe Township, NJ
Award for Excellence in Practice - APRN

"Mindy’s group members develop resilience through her efforts, which allows them to successfully manage their illness with optimism and empowerment."

Heike Barnett, BSN, RN
Colorado Springs, CO
Award for Excellence in Practice - RN

"Ms. Barnett has a deep concern and passion for level of psychiatric nursing care of the seriously mentally ill and if that care contributes to their recovery."

  Janice Goodman  

Janice H. Goodman, PhD, PMHCNS-BC
Boston, MA
Award for Excellence in Research

"Dr. Goodman’s research is an exemplar of the holistic, individual and family focused, prevention-intervention targeted research priorities."





The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.