Award for Excellence in Leadership - RN

The APNA Award for Excellence in Leadership - RN recognizes an APNA member who demonstrates unique leadership qualities through significant contributions to an organization, a community, the psychiatric-mental health nursing specialty or the nursing profession. The individual must have been a member of APNA for at least two years.



  1. Shows evidence of participating in the improvement of organizational performance to positively impact patient care in work settings and organizational settings (local, state and/or national levels).
  2. Shows evidence of continuously improving his/her skills and knowledge base through a variety of self-enhancement activities.
  3. Shows evidence of mentoring others in their development as psychiatric-mental health nurses by example and teaching peers and other health care workers in work settings and organizational settings.
  4. Shows evidence of participating in political activities associated with psychiatric-mental health issues.

The nominations deadline has passed. Thank you for submitting a nomination!
To submit a nomination:

  • Complete the online nomination form.
    • When completing the form, be sure to include specific examples of how the nominee has achieved excellence in his/her practice, what makes the nominee stand out in the profession, and what the nominee has accomplished that meets the criteria.
  • Find a reference to complete the form.
    • In order to be considered, each nomination must have both a nominator and a reference.

Nominations Deadline: Monday, April 23, 2018

Past Recipients: 2017 - Marybeth McManus  2016 - Kristen Kichefski   2015 - Diane Allen  |  2014 - Michele Moreau  |  2013 - Judy Linn  |  2012 - Anne Kelly  |  More

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.