2017 Elections Results



May 2017

Dear Colleagues,

The polls are now closed. Thank you for casting your vote!

For instructions on voting online, see the Steps to Vote. All ballots must be postmarked or electronically filed no later than July 18, 2017 to be considered valid.

You can familiarize yourself with the candidates with the Online Election Guide at www.apna.org/electionguide or call APNA at 855-863-2762 to request a paper copy. This information describes the candidates’ backgrounds, leadership styles, and contributions to APNA.

The 2017 Nominating Committee carefully considered the impressive nominations received before selecting this year’s candidates. The slate of candidates was subsequently approved by the Board of Directors. We are grateful to all of those who participated in this process and applaud those willing to submit their names for consideration.

Thank you for your continued support of APNA and PMH nursing. Let your voice be heard by casting your vote for the new leaders of your association!


Kris A. McLoughlin  
Carole Shea
Kris A. McLoughlin,DNP, APRN, PMHCNS-BC, CADC-ll, FAAN
Carole A. Shea, PhD, RN, FAAN
Chair, Nominating Committee

(Adopted September 2006)


Section 1. (a) APNA provides leadership to promote psychiatric-mental health nurses, improve mental health care for culturally diverse individuals, families, groups, and communities, and shape health policy for the delivery of mental health services; (b) to make charitable contributions and grants to nonprofit organizations exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as the same may be amended or supplemented (hereinafter referred to as the “IRC”), as well as governmental units and other nonprofit organizations, that promote and further the purposes described in this Section 1 above; and (c) to exercise any other powers conferred upon Associations organized pursuant to the provisions of the Delaware General Association Law, as the same may be amended or supplemented (hereinafter referred to as the “Act”).

Section 2. The Association is organized exclusively for charitable, educational, and scientific purposes, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations exempt from federal income tax under IRC Section 501(c)(3).

Section 3. Notwithstanding any other provision of these Bylaws, the Association shall not carry on any other activities not permitted to be carried on: (i) by an Association exempt from federal income tax under IRC Section 501(c)(3); or (ii) by an Association contributions to which are deductible under IRC Section 170(c)(2).

Section 4. No substantial part of the activities of the Association shall be the carrying on of propaganda, or otherwise attempting to influence legislation, and the Association shall not participate in, or intervene in (including the publishing or distribution of statements), any political campaign on behalf of, or in opposition to, any candidate for public office.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.