The secretary prepares and keeps board meeting minutes and sees that all meeting notices are given in accordance with the bylaws or as required by law; and serves as custodian of the corporate records and of the seal of the association. Full Description




Joyce SheaPresent Position
Associate Professor/Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, Fairfield University Egan School of Nursing and Health Studies, Fairfield, CT; Clinical Nurse Specialist in Adult Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing

1979 BSN,Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT; 1983 MSN, Yale University School of Nursing, New Haven, CT; 2002 DNSc, Yale University School of Nursing, New Haven, CT

APNA Contributions

  • APNA member since 2003
  • Institute for Mental Health Advocacy Steering Committee 2010-2015
  • Recovery Council Expert Panel Member since 2011
  • Education Council Steering Committee and Co-Chair of the Continuing Education Subcommittee since 2013-2015
  • Nominating Committee 2014 (elected)
  • Secretary of the APNA Board of Directors 2015 (elected)
  • Recorded a Webinar on "Integration of Recovery Principles for Advanced Practice Educators" for APNA's eLearning site
  • APNA Transitions in Practice program Presenter on Psychotic Disorders

Other Experience

  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) for over 35 years with ANCC certification as an Adult Psychiatric-Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist
  • Completed Level I and Level II Training in Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR)
  • Taught at both the undergraduate and graduate levels in nursing for more than 25 years
  • Currently Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and an Associate Professor at the Egan School of Nursing and Health Studies
  • Member of the Connecticut Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Society (CTAPRNS); involved with the successful efforts to achieve independent practice for APRNs in CT in 2014
  • Past President, Region 15 Representative, and Biennial Convention Delegate for the Mu Chi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International
  • Completed the American Association of Colleges of Nursing/Wharton Executive Leadership Program, 2016
  • Awarded a $1.3 million HRSA grant that partners FNP and PMHNP students in integrated care settings

APNA Members Should Vote for Me Because:  I have demonstrated over the past 2 years that I have the organizational and leadership skills necessary for the role of Secretary. As Secretary, my focus has been on maintaining accurate records for the BOD and having them available when needed for decision-making processes. As Associate Dean, I have developed a leadership style that is both detail-focused and big-picture-aware. I have worked with many faculty members and administrators, both inside and outside of the SON, who had diverse styles and personalities, and I have found ways to promote teamwork and achieve consensus. I see myself as a growth-oriented participative leader, looking to members of my school/organization for input in establishing goals and plans for change and then working side-by-side with those members to achieve the goals set.

How I Can Help Fulfill APNA’s Purpose As A Scientific and Education Organization:  I will continue to support all aspects of APNA's purpose and vision. My clinical and research background represents my long-standing commitment to empowering clients with severe mental illness, while my educational positions have allowed me to empower students at both the undergraduate and graduate level. My work at APNA has demonstrated my interest in empowering psychiatric RNs and APRNs to be the best care providers for their clients. I hope that I can continue to serve the members of APNA as Secretary, moving the organization forward at yet another challenging time in health care.

Back to Top

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.