Candidate Information

NM Home  |  Bylaws  |  Officers  | Events

Minutes and Newsletters  |  Member Bridge


Lisa Atwa is a board certified Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner in both adult and child & adolescent psychiatric mental health nursing and works in the emergency department of the University of New Mexico Hospital. She has had a wide range of experience combining psychiatric mental health nursing with medical surgical, urgent care, telemetry, mother-baby and corrections nursing. Lisa previously served as secretary for two years and president-elect for two years of the APNA New Chapter Board of Directors.


Jill Martin BA, AAS, RN, PMH-BC
Jill Martin’s career includes working with veterans on an inpatient acute psychiatric unit as both a staff nurse and assistant manager. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from the University of Minnesota and an Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing from Santa Fe Community College in Santa Fe, NM. Jill is ANCC board certified in Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing, is a certified WRAP facilitator, and a certified Social Skills Training facilitator.  She is also a certified facilitator of APNA’s and SAMSHA’s Recovery to Practice program.  Jill is a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honorary Society. Jill has served on the Board of Directors of the APNA New Mexico Chapter for four years and has been treasurer for two years. 


Carol Capitano PhD, APRN-BC
Dr. Capitano is an Assistant Professor at the University of New Mexico            College of Nursing.  She received her PhD from the University of New Mexico College of Nursing, her masters and bachelors degrees in    nursing from Virginia Commonwealth University and her nursing diploma from Jackson Memorial Hospital.  Her research includes:  Survivors of suicide, PTSD, bereavement and end of life issues.  She is a board certified Psychiatric Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist          with prescriptive privileges.  Dr. Capitano has served on the board of the APNA New Mexico Chapter for the past two years as a member at large and on the conference planning committee. 

Members at Large

Martha Faulkner PhD, CNP, LISW
Dr. Martha “Molly” Faulkner is currently the Clinical Director of the State Workforce Initiative and Lecturer III in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health, Division of Community      Behavioral Health at the University Of New Mexico School Of Medicine in Albuquerque, NM. She received her PhD in nursing and her Masters degree in Nursing from the University of New Mexico and her Masters in Social Work from New Mexico Highlands University. Dr. Faulkner has served       primarily underserved minority populations in Alaska, Oklahoma and New Mexico. For the past twenty years, she has provided direct service to children, adolescents and their families in areas of psychotherapy and psychopharmacology at the         University Of New Mexico.  After thirty-two years of direct service Dr. Faulkner now focuses her energy on working with the Division of Community Behavioral Health to address the larger issue of workforce development to support the rurally based mental health workforce in New Mexico.

Barbara Gilmore PMHNP-BC
Barbara Gilmore has lived in Las Cruces, New Mexico for 12 years and feels she has an understanding of the behavioral health needs of the southern part of the state of New Mexico.  She has been a PMH-NP-BC for 9 ½ years, working in out-patient care, private practice, and in-patient hospital care.  She was involved with New Mexico State University Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Program as an instructor and coordinator and had the opportunity to meet with students from various parts of the state and learn about various practice sites and settings.  Besides APNA, Barbara is also a member of ANA and NMNA, Sigma Theta Tau, and the New Mexico Nurse Practitioner Counsel.    She is interested in involvement on a state and local level to share experiences, advocate for patients and families, and represent psychiatric nursing and advance practice concerns. 

Maureen Kolomier MSN, MBA, PMHNP-BC
Maureen Kolomeir is the owner and nurse practitioner at the Kolomeir Clinic in Albuquerque, New Mexico, where she is in private practice providing full service adult psychiatric outpatient care. Ms. Kolomeir has been an APNA New Mexico Chapter board member for the past six years and served as president from 2012 to 2013 and past president from 2013-2014.  She is the Chair of the Chapter's Advanced Practice Subcommittee.  Ms. Kolomeir has served on the 2013 New Mexico Mental Health Task Force, the APNA National Safety Council and led a state -wide initiative on suicide assessment and management. She is currently a doctoral student at New Mexico State University’s DNP program. Ms. Kolomeir was the recipient of the 2005 New Mexico's Nurse of Excellence award in Behavioral Health.and her assessment of policy for suicide prevention  has been published in HCPro and Strategies for Nurse Managers (online).

Ann Taylor-Trujillo Ed.D., MSN, RN, CNS
Ann Taylor-Trujillo is the Executive Director of the University of New Mexico Psychiatric Center.  She received her masters degree in nursing with a specialty in psychiatric nursing from Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan and her educational doctorate from College of Saint Mary in Omaha, Nebraska.  She has previously served as Director of Nursing at Las Vegas Behavioral Health Institute in Las Vegas, New Mexico and at    the Richard Young Behavioral Health Center in Kearney, Nebraska.  Dr. Taylor Trujillo is a Certified Executive in Nursing Practice through the AONE.  She has been a long standing active member of APNA where she has given numerous presentations at the annual conference and state conferences.

Janet Thelen MSN, RN, PMHNP-BC
Janet Thelen is a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner at San Juan Regional Medical Center in Farmington, New Mexico where she cares for people with a wide range of mental health disorders.  Janet has been an active member of the APNA New Mexico Chapter board of directors for the past six years and has served on the nominating committee.

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.