Member News - May 2012

Kathleen McCoy Inducted as Fellow in the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
Kathleen McCoy, DNSc, APN PMHNP-BC/CNS-BC, FNP-BC will be inducted on June 22 at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners in Orlando, Florida. The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) established the Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing Program in 2000 to recognize nurse practitioner leaders who have made outstanding contributions to health care through nurse practitioner clinical practice, research, education or policy. Dr. McCoy is one of only 43 Nurse Practitioners (NP) to be inducted in 2012. (
APNA Members Selected for Induction into the American Academy of Nursing
Kris McLoughlin, DNP, APRN, BC; Mary Johnson, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC; Barbara Jones Warren, PhD, RN, BC; Donna Martsolf, PhD, RN, MSN; and Margaret Graham, PhD, FNP, PNP, BC have been selected for induction as fellows into the American Academy of Nursing. A total of 176 nurse leaders were selected to be inducted this October. Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current Academy Fellows. (
Nursing Professor John Lowe Receives Prestigious Research and Leadership Awards
John Lowe, RN, PhD, FAAN, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing’s John Wymer Distinguished Professor, recently was the recipient of two prestigious awards.  Florida Atlantic University presented Dr. Lowe with a “University Researcher of the Year” award at FAU’s Honors Convocation.  In addition, the Florida Nurses Association selected him as South Florida Region “Nurse of the Year” for 2012. Dr. Lowe is dedicated to developing substance abuse prevention for Native American Youth and recieved two grants from NIMH's Institute on Drug Abuse to help pursue prevention solutions. His research Native American youth as well as FAU nursing students who work alongside Dr. Lowe.  (
Book by Laurie Barkin Given 2011 Book of the Year and 2012 Nautilus Awards
The Comfort Garden: Tales from the Trauma Unit, an account of Laurie Barkin, RN, MS' work as a psychiatric mental health nurse consultant on a surgical/trauma unit, was awarded the 2011 Book of the Year by the American Journal of Nursing. In addition, the book has recieved a 2012 Nautilus Book Award. (

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.