July 2015 Member News

Anita Boykins Anita Boykins secures $1.6 million grant for the College of Nursing at the University of Southern Mississippi. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) awards the College of Nursing $1.6 million to support advanced nursing education and practice. Boykins is the grant program director. http://www.wdam.com/story/29498534/southern-miss-college-of-nursing-receives-16m-grant-for-education-training
Josh Hamilton Josh Hamilton is the 2015 Distinguished Alumnus for the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing at the University of Wyoming. For his exceptional contributions to the nursing profession, Hamilton will be honored at this fall's College of Health Science's Distinguished Alumni celebration. Hamilton was recently appointed to be the Dean of the Engelstad School of Health Sciences at The College of Southern Nevada, effective July 1. http://www.uwyo.edu/nursing/alumni/alumni-distinguished/2015-hamilton.html
Brenda Marshall Brenda Marshall honored as 2015 Academy of Nursing Education Fellow by National League of Nursing. Marshall is New Jersey's APNA chapter president. http://www.nln.org/newsroom/news-releases/news-release/2015/06/09/2015-nln-academy-of-nursing-education-fellows
Marlene Nadler Moodie
Marlene Nadler-Moodie named Behavioral Health Person of the Year for San Diego County. For her outstanding service to the mental health community, Nadler-Moodie received the award at the San Diego Behavioral Health Recognition Dinner. http://www.delmartimes.net/news/2015/jun/16/carmel-valley-resident-behavioral-health-scripps/
Nicole Schultz Nicole Schultz profiled in Florida Today. Schultz is a psychiatric nurse practitioner living on Florida's space coast. http://www.floridatoday.com/story/money/business/2015/07/11/psychiatric-nurse-admires-minds-complexity/29861153/
Linda Stanley
Linda Stanley receives top VA Women Veteran Resiliency Award. Stanley is an Air Force veteran now working as a psychiatric nurse at the VA's emergency psychiatric clinic.  http://www.nbcsandiego.com/news/local/VA-Offers-Special-Help-for-Female-Veterans-313539441.html
Dawn Vanderhoef
Dawn Vanderhoef recognized by Vanderbilt University for receiving APNA's Excellence in Education Award. Vanderhoef is an assistant professor of nursing at Vanderbilt. https://www.nashvillepost.com/news/2015/7/7/on_the_move_7_july_2015
APNA President Susie Adams Angela McNelis
Susie Adams, Angela McNelis, Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini, and Jane White to be inducted as new Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. This October, Adams (top left), McNelis (top right), Stacciarini (bottom left), and White (bottom right) will be honored as new Fellows. http://www.aannet.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=856:american-academy-of-nursing-announces-2015-class-of-new-fellows-6-30-15&catid=23:news&Itemid=133
Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini Jane White
Want your news to be featured in the next APNA Members' Corner Newsletter? Contact us!
AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.