March 2018 Member News


Edward Herzog

Edward Herzog discusses school threats. Herzog, whose work focuses on crisis intervention, discusses the theories behind "copycat" threats.

Teena McGuinness George Peraza-Smith

Teena McGuinness and George Peraza-Smith to be made Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. McGuinness and Peraza-Smith will be inducted into the FAANP this coming June.


Patti Nelson calls for Medicaid expansion in response to the opioid epidemic. Expanding Medicaid, Nelson argues, will better equip psychiatric-mental health nurses and other individuals to address substance use disorders.


Andrew Penn

Andrew Penn blogs about the importance of self care through personal psychotherapy. Penn encourages psychiatric-mental health nurses and other mental health care providers to ensure their own wellness through personal psychotherapy.

Shirley Smoyak

Shirley Smoyak nominated for Beacon of Light Award. The award, presented by the Institute for Nursing, recognizes nurses and community members who represent a passion for nursing.

Linda Stanley

Linda Stanley discusses her experience as a nurse at the Janet Rodgers Lectureship. Stanley was a panelist at the event and discussed her life as a trauma nurse in the military.

Edilma Yearwood Cynthia Handrup

Edilma Yearwood, Cynthia Handrup named Global Alliance for Behavioral Health and Social Justice Board Members. Yearwood and Handrup are now serving as Secretary and President-Elect, respectively, on the Global Alliance’s Board. Yearwood brings her 35 years of experience as a certified Clinical Nurse Specialist in Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing to her new role. Handrup, a board certified advanced practice psychiatric-mental health nurse, previously served on the Board in a different role and is now returning as President-Elect.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.