March 2019


Jess Calohan

Jess Calohan named Director of Frontier Nursing University Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program. Jess looks forward to supporting the development of new mental health care providers.


Sandy Cayler discusses Iowa’s shortage of psychiatric-mental health professionals. Currently finishing her nurse practitioner training, Sandy will continue to provide care to patients at St. Anthony Regional Hospital.


Simone Durand mentors students to increase access to mental health care for children. Simone oversees students in the University of Alabama/Children’s of Alabama collaborative placement program.

Kay Foland

Kay Foland details South Dakota State University’s new postgraduate certificate in psychiatric-mental health. The certificate, Kay says, will support nurse practitioners as they provide holistic care.

Gregory Forrester

Gregory Forrester receives scholarship from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. Gregory’s achievement was honored at a ceremony in January.


Chelsea Landolin discusses UCSF’s Dyad project which seeks to address the shortage of providers and increase interprofessional education (IPE). Chelsea secured a $50,000 grant to implement IPE with UCSF’s School of Nursing and School of Pharmacy.


Laura Lawson Webb named VP and CNO of Sheppard Pratt Health System. Laura brings her extensive behavioral health experience to her new roles as Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer.

Mona Shattell

Mona Shattell to serve as inaugural Associate Dean for Faculty Development at the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing. In her new role, Mona will support faculty development to promote diverse and inclusive professional environments.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.