Member News July 2019



Jennifer Amis explains the importance of telehealth and access to mental health care. Jennifer was interviewed in the Silicon Prairie News about her role with Endeavor Telehealth.

Sean Convoy

Sean Convoy discusses new partnership between Duke University School of Nursing and the Cohen Veterans Network. This partnership will provide opportunities for students to experience clinical placements at Steven A. Cohen Military Family Clinics.

Holly Covington

Holly Covington honored as a Colorado Health Care Star. Holly's patient care, risk minimization programs, and promotion of a positive workplace culture earned her the designation.


Dallas Ducar profiled by the University of Virginia.  In her profile, Dallas shares her experience transitioning and how it helps her connect with patients.


Joshua Hamilton featured on RMUpload Podcast. Joshua details how psychiatric-mental health nurses combat the stigma surrounding mental health.

Kris McLoughlin

Kris McLoughlin receives Distinguished Alumni award from Yale University. Nominated by fellow APNA member Wailua Brandman, Kris earned the honor for her achievements as a psychiatric-mental health nurse.


Bernadette Melnyk elected president of the National Consortium for Building Healthy Academic Communities. In this role, Bernadette will support the BHAC’s goal of enhancing population health and well-being at universities, colleges, and their communities.


Kathleen Schachman introduces Saginaw Valley State University’s Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program. Kathleen discusses the first class of students in the program, telehealth, and the importance of nursing education.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.