Demaris Aragon and Melody Bemis discuss staying connected to patients during the COVID-19 pandemic. Aragon and Bemis talk about transitioning to telehealth, the impact of the pandemic on mental health, and more.


Barbarajo Bockenhauer steps forward as a volunteer to help with New Hampshire’s response to COVID-19. Bockenhauer, a retired psychiatric nurse practitioner, volunteered to help any way she can while the hospitals experience a rise in cases.


Rose Constantino receives 2020 American Nurses Association National Award. Constantino will be inducted to the ANA Hall of Fame in recognition of her inspirational work as an educator and role model. Through her dedication to patient care, involvement with local, state, and national nursing organizations, and program development, Constantino has helped shape the future of nursing.

Karen Foli

Karen Foli conducts research on the extent of psychological trauma induced by the COVID-19 pandemic; joined Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association Editorial Board. Foli and her team will explore the psychological and behavioral responses of nurses on the frontlines of the pandemic.,-but-how-do-we-protect-nurses-mental-health.html

View the JAPNA Editorial Board:

Nick Guenzel

Nick Guenzel details the University of Nebraska Medical Center offering free mental health care for the duration of the coronavirus pandemic. The expansion of care will be offered in partnership with the People’s City Mission Free Medical Clinic and will utilize telehealth.



Stephanie Swain named Acute Care Director of South Peninsula Hospital’s Homer Medical Center. Swain will oversee the inpatient unit, emergency department, and more in her new role.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.