The APNA Annual Awards recognize APNA members who demonstrate excellence in psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, education, research, leadership, community efforts, and more. This year's recipients will be recognized at the APNA 34th Annual Conference and in communications throughout the year. Click on each recipient for insight into what drives them and their amazing work.

Linda Beeber

Linda Beeber, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN
Chapel Hill, NC
Psychiatric Nurse of the Year

"Dr. Beeber is not only an effective leader, but also an inspirational role model for a new generation of clinicians, scholars, and students."

Barbara Limandri

Barbara Limandri, PhD, PMHCNS-BC
Portland, OR
Award for Distinguished Service

"Dr. Limandri is extremely bright and exceptionally motivated and her energy to “unselfishly give” to the psychiatric-mental health nursing profession is remarkable."

Rosalind De Lisser

Rosalind De Lisser, APRN, FNP-BC, PMHNP-BC
San Francisco, CA
Award for Excellence in Education

"Roz provides leadership as a clinician educator by helping systems statewide understand the PMHNP role and incorporate it in the current climate of integrated behavioral health."

APNA Arizona Chapter

APNA Arizona Chapter
Award for Innovation - Chapter

"APNA Arizona Chapter Book Club is an excellent way to involve and connect chapter members who live many miles apart - and now with safe distancing this online activity is ideal!"

Georgia Stevens

Georgia L. Stevens, PhD, APRN, PMHCNS-BC
Washington, DC
Award for Innovation - Individual

Dr. Stevens directs a dynamic care coordination program in Maryland for adult and geriatric consumers with (SMI) deinstitutionalized from state hospitals to the community that has significantly reduced re-hospitalizations to state hospitals and strengthened the community network of care.

JoEllen Schimmels

JoEllen Schimmels, DNP, RN, PMHNP-BC, FAAN
Vienna, VA
Award for Excellence in Leadership - APRN

"[JoEllen] has written or lead the writing and implementation of most policies and standardized processes related to behavioral health nurses...in military medicine."

Suzie Marriott

Suzie Marriott, MS, BSN, RN-BC
Port Jefferson Station, NY
Award for Excellence in Leadership - RN

"During the COVID-19 pandemic, Suzie not only worked to contain transmission in her hospital units, but also provided leadership and crisis support to staff on the medical floors impacted by the care of critically ill patients."

Michelle Giddings

Michelle Giddings, DNP, PMHNP-BC, FNP-BC
Las Vegas, NV
Award for Excellence in Practice - APRN

"Through her strong advocacy, knowledge, and leadership, Dr. Giddings helped to influence the legislative decision that allows psychiatric APRNs in Nevada to perform Competency to Stand Trial evaluations."

Heather McCormick

Heather McCormick, BSN, RN-BC, PHN
Redwood, CA
Award for Excellence in Practice - RN

"Heather serves as a key leader in creating structure for a cultural shift in which the physical, emotional, social, spiritual, cultural and age-specific needs, personal dignity, and autonomy of veterans is supported."

Olimpia Paun

Olimpia Paun, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FGSA
Chicago, IL
Award for Excellence in Research

"Dr. Paun has built an innovative program that focuses on the mental health needs of the dementia family caregiver population."

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.