APNA Iowa Chapter

IA Home  |  Governance Policies  |  Officers

Minutes  |  Events  |  Member Bridge  |  Careers in Your Area

Scholarship OpportunityScholarship Opportunity

The APNA Iowa Chapter is happy to announce four scholarships available for the 2020-2021 year to promote the educational efforts of students in seeking higher education. To be eligible, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a current student in a BSN, MSN, DNP, or post-graduate certificate program or enrolled for the 2020-2021 school year
  • Be a student member of APNA
  • Submit an essay discussing how this scholarship will benefit you and why you have chosen to continue your education (800 words or fewer)
  • Attend the APNA Iowa Chapter 2020 Conference on June 12, 2020 (complimentary registration included with scholarship)
  • Submit a letter of reference from a faculty member
  • Submit a current CV

The deadline to apply is April 1st, 2020.

Apply Now



Save the DateAPNA Iowa Chapter Conference
2020 Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: Caring for the Future

Friday June 12th
University of Iowa College of Nursing
50 Newton Rd
Iowa City, IA 52242


Chapter Awards

We are thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2019 Benfer and Schroder Awards! View the recipients here.


Chapter Goals

The Iowa Chapter of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA). APNA is the premier voice of psychiatric-mental health nurses in the United States as well as internationally. In 1994, the Iowa Chapter was formally chartered as a chapter of APNA. Since that time, the Iowa Chapter has emerged as Iowa’s only formal professional organization for psychiatric nurses. We invite all psychiatric nurses practicing in Iowa and surrounding states to join.



Any APNA member who resides in Iowa is automatically a member of the Iowa Chapter. If you are interested in joining or renewing your membership, please see the Membership tab on APNA’s home page for more information about the application process and dues.

Advantages of Joining our Chapter

  1. An ongoing opportunity for networking with other nurses sharing common situations, challenges and goals.
  2. Continuing education on a regional basis at minimal cost to members
  3. Current information and potential action regarding issues impacting the field of psychiatric nursing.
  4. Nurses with a personal “grass roots” link with APNA.

Together, we can do it!

Member Bridge Network

Use Member Bridge to connect with your local community!  If you are not familiar with our members-only networking site, click here for an introductory presentation.

Careers in Your Area

Check out job listings in your area with APNA CareerLine.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.