Psychiatric Nurse of the Year

The APNA Psychiatric Nurse of the Year Award recognizes an APNA member who demonstrates vision, perseverance, dedication, initiative and facilitation in the delivery of mental health services to individuals, families and their communities. The individual must have been a member of APNA for at least two years.



  1. Demonstrates vision in providing creative solutions.
  2. Exhibits and encourages risk taking.
  3. Challenges traditional roles and perspectives of psychiatric-mental health nursing.
  4. Champions the facilitation of mental health services for individuals/families/communities.
  5. Disseminates psychiatric-mental health nursing knowledge (published paper or oral presentation)
  6. Is recognized as a leader committed to assisting other nurses in their development as psychiatric-mental health nurses.


Past Recipients: 2019 - Susie M. Adams |  2018 - Mary Moller  |  2017 - Jaclene Zauszniewski  |  2016 - Barbara Jones Warren  |  2015 - Kathleen Delaney  |  2014 - Katherine Baltazar  |  2013 - Jocelyn Perez  | 2012 - Mary Ann Nihart  |  2011 - Barbara Drew  |  2010 - Kathleen Buckwalter  More

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.