Award for Excellence in Education

The APNA Award for Excellence in Education recognizes an APNA member who has fostered the professional growth of psychiatric-mental health nurses through imparting knowledge, skill and critical analysis to the field. The individual must have been a member of APNA for at least two years.



  1. Demonstrates contributions to the education of nurses as, for example, a faculty member, administrator, educator, staff development coordinator, staff nurse, quality professional or clinical specialist.
  2. Demonstrates innovative approaches in disseminating new knowledge in the field of psychiatric-mental health nursing.
  3. Demonstrates collaboration with other disciplines in knowledge dissemination.
  4. Demonstrates positive mentoring to peers and new nurses.


The nominations deadline has passed. Thank you for submitting a nomination!
To submit a nomination:

  • Complete the online nomination form.
    • When completing the form, be sure to include specific examples of how the nominee has achieved excellence in his/her practice, what makes the nominee stand out in the profession, and what the nominee has accomplished that meets the criteria.
  • Find a reference to complete the form.
    • In order to be considered, each nomination must have both a nominator and a reference.

Nominations Deadline: Monday, April 23, 2018

Past Recipients: 2017 - Sattaria "Tari" Dilks  |  2016 - Joy Lauerer  |  2015 - Dawn Vanderhoef  2014 - Carole Shea  2013 - Merrie Kaas  2012 - Brenda Marshall  |  2011 - Jane Suresky  |  2010 Michael Rice  |  More

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.