Award for Distinguished Service

The APNA Award for Distinguished Service is intended as recognition for commitment, initiative, loyalty, integrity and exceptional and meritorious service to the American Psychiatric Nurses Association. This service may include, but is not limited to: officer, board member, state or regional representative, task forces or committees of either national APNA or its affiliated chapters and those individuals who may not have held office but provided outstanding service to psychiatric-mental health nursing through membership in APNA. The individual must have been a member of APNA for at least two years.



  1. Demonstrates consistent leadership in promoting and advancing psychiatric-mental health nursing.
  2. Is recognized by colleagues in the profession for outstanding service in the areas of public advocacy, organizational leadership, education or research.
  3. Has demonstrated dedicated service and sustained commitment to furthering the development of APNA and its members.
  4. Has attended at least two (2) APNA conferences in the past five (5) years.

Past Recipients: 2019 - Marlene Nadler-Moodie  |   2018 - Michael Rice  |  2017 - Cheryl Puntil  |  2016 - Julie Carbray  |  2015 - Jeanne Clement  | 2014 - Ruth Staten  |  2013 - Helen Birkbeck  2012 - Mary Moller  |  2011 - Shirley Smoyak  |  More


AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.