Meaghan Trimyer
American Psychiatric Nurses Association
+1 571-533-1931

Kathleen Delaney, PhD, PMH-NP, RN - 2015 Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse of the Year, and Jeanne Clement, EdD, APRN, PMHCNS- BC, FAAN - 2015 Award for Distinguished Service
"These eight nurses exemplify what it means to be a psychiatric-mental health nurse."

Eight Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses Recognized with 2015 American Psychiatric Nurses Association Annual Awards

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association honors eight psychiatric-mental health nurses for their dedication to mental health care and wellness promotion.


Falls Church, VA (PRWEB) September 15, 2015

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2015 APNA Annual Awards. Each year, psychiatric-mental health nurses are nominated for these awards by their colleagues and selected by a committee of their peers. APNA is pleased to recognize eight individuals who advance psychiatric-mental health nursing through their leadership, dedication, and vision. These recipients will be honored in person at the APNA 29th Annual Conference this October, in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

“The APNA Annual Awards highlight the achievements and innovations of psychiatric-mental health nurses. These eight nurses exemplify what it means to be a psychiatric-mental health nurse,” said APNA President Susie Adams, PhD, APRN, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC, FAANP. “Their commitment to their profession and dedication to making accessible mental health care a reality is truly an inspiration.”

Kathleen Delaney, PhD, PMH-NP, RN, is the recipient of the 2015 APNA Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse of the Year Award. This award is given to nurses who inspire through their efforts in the delivery of mental health services to individuals, families, and their communities. Delaney was chosen due to her work bringing provocative issues to the forefront of psychiatric nursing discussion in order to better the field as a whole. She currently serves as the program director for the psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner program at Chicago’s Rush University. She is also a well-known researcher on workplace issues, currently through work force studies with the Illinois Healthcare Action Coalition Practice Committee and the Illinois Center for Nursing Advisory Board. Delaney is passionate about safe practice environments, and serves as the co-chair of APNA’s Institute for Safe Environments. “To me, there are few psychiatric mental health nurses who have demonstrated such unwavering vision, perseverance, dedication, and facilitation in the delivery of mental health services as Dr. Delaney,” says Mary Johnson, who nominated Delaney for the award. “Dr. Delaney is always advocating for the presence of [psychiatric-mental health] nursing.”

In recognition of her commitment, initiative, loyalty, integrity, and exceptional and meritorious service to APNA, Jeanne Clement, EdD, APRN, PMHCNS- BC, FAAN has been awarded the 2015 APNA Award for Distinguished Service. Clement is a retired professor from Ohio State University who continues to provide therapy as an advanced-practice psychiatric mental health nurse. She served as President of APNA from 2007-2008 and continues to maintain an active role in the association. Most recently, she participated in the development and dissemination of APNA’s Recovery to Practice Curriculum, a nationwide program which aligns with the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s Recovery to Practice initiative. Clement is not only a distinguished member of APNA, but also a devoted member of the psychiatric-mental health nursing community at large. Clement’s career in psychiatric-mental health nursing has included teaching and mentoring psychiatric-mental health advanced practice nursing students at Ohio State University to maintaining a clinical practice to traveling to Turkey to nurture psychiatric-mental health nurses and serve as keynote speaker at a national conference. “In summary, Jeanne Clement has been a forceful influence on APNA, PMH nursing, and the care provided for people with mental illness,” Barbara L. Drew, Clement’s nominator, writes.

In addition to Delaney and Clement, six psychiatric-mental health nurses are being honored with APNA Annual Awards for their commitment to excellence in specific aspects of psychiatric-mental health nursing:
Mary Conklen, MSN, APN, PMHCNS-BC, Memorial Physician Services Vine Street Clinic, New Holland, Illinois: Award for Excellence in Practice – APRN
Janette O’Connor, BS, BSN, MS, RN-BC, New York Presbyterian Hospital – Westchester Division, White Plains, New York: Award for Excellence in Practice – RN
Diane Allen, MN, RN-BC, NEA-BC, New Hampshire Hospital, Concord, NH: Award for Excellence in Leadership – RN
Dawn Vanderhoef, PhD, DNP, RN, PMHNP/CNS-BC, Vanderbilt University, Roberts, Wisconsin: Award for Excellence in Education
Jane Mahoney, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, Menninger Clinic, Sugar Land, Texas: Award for Excellence in Research
Angela Thomas, MSN, BSN, PHN, RN, Regions Hospital, Cottage Grove, Minnesota: Award for Innovation – Individual

(Learn more about the APNA Annual Awards Recipients)

The APNA 29th Annual Conference will be held at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, October 28- 31. In addition to celebrating this year’s award recipients, the APNA Annual Conference will feature more than 3 days of networking and over 100 continuing education sessions for psychiatric nurses, including RNs and advanced practice nurses.

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is a national professional membership organization of more than 10,000 members committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing and wellness promotion, prevention of mental health problems, and the care and treatment of persons with psychiatric disorders. APNA’s membership is inclusive of all psychiatric-mental health registered nurses, including associate degree, baccalaureate, advanced practice (comprised of clinical nurse specialists and psychiatric nurse practitioners), and nurse scientists and academicians (PhD). APNA serves as a resource for psychiatric mental health nurses to engage in networking, education, and the dissemination of research.

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC NURSES ASSOCIATION and APNA-Logoare registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as trademarks of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.