Skip to Main Content

APNA Award For Distinguished Service


The APNA Award for Distinguished Service is intended as recognition for commitment, initiative, loyalty, integrity and exceptional and meritorious service to the American Psychiatric Nurses Association. This service may include, but is not limited to: officer, board member, state or regional representative, task forces or committees of either national APNA or its affiliated chapters and those individuals who may not have held office but provided outstanding service to psychiatric-mental health nursing through membership in APNA.The individual must have been a member of APNA for at least two years.


  • Demonstrates consistent leadership in promoting and advancing psychiatric-mental health nursing.
  • Has a history of leadership through outstanding service in the areas of public advocacy, organizational leadership, education, or research.
  • Has shown dedicated service and sustained commitment to furthering the development of APNA and its members.
  • Demonstrates involvement with APNA through attendance at APNA conferences, committee leadership, and/or participation in key APNA initiatives.
  • Has attended at least 2 APNA conferences in the past 5 years.

View past APNA Awards recipients here. 

Call for Nominations Closed

How to Submit Your Nomination
  • Log in with your APNA username and password.
  • On the My Dashboard screen, select APNA Annual Awards from the dropdown menu and then press the Launch Application button. (If you do not see the dropdown menu, please click My Dashboard in your navigation.)
  • Complete the online nomination form.
    • Use the tabs to navigate through each section of the form and remember to hit the Save as draft button as you go.
    • When completing the form, be sure to include specific examples of how the nominee has achieved excellence in his/her practice, what makes the nominee stand out in the profession, and what the nominee has accomplished that meets the criteria.
  • Find a reference to complete the form.
    • On the reference tab of your nomination submission, enter a contact’s name and email address to generate an email that will include a link to submit their reference.
    • In order to be considered, each nomination must have both a nominator and a reference.
  • Once your nomination is complete, press the Submit Final Nomination button.