Skip to Main Content

APNA Board of Directors Student Scholars Recipients

“I utilized the great opportunity to seek and obtain my future mentors during the conference. Most of them have had a tremendous amount of clinical, research, advocacy, and leadership experiences in the field.”

With one year of APNA membership plus registration, travel, and lodging to attend the APNA Annual Conference, the APNA Board of Directors Student Scholarship offered undergraduate/pre-licensure and graduate nursing students fantastic opportunities to:

  • Connect with a robust network of psychiatric-mental health nurses
  • Discover the latest developments in the field
  • Get a head start on a career in psychiatric-mental health nursing

APNA Board of Directors Student Scholarship 2021 Recipients

This scholarship, funded by the APNA Board of Directors, included registration for the APNA Annual Conference, held October 13-16 in Louisville. In addition, the recipients received one year complimentary membership in APNA.


Elliana Brody
Bradley University

Seung In (Grace) Cho
University of Pennsylvania

Shalah Collicott
Oregon Health & Science University

Brooke Condrey
Georgia State University

John Glenny
University of South Florida

Tashae Gomez Jones  
Heritage University

Duaa Hashm
Louisiana State University

Obinna Ilochonwu
Berea College

Bethany Mandy
State University of New York, Plattsburgh

Alaezsha Mayo
Miami University

Sarah O’Neil
University of South Florida

Keith Quist
Brigham Young University

Rachel Urbano
University of Bridgeport

Alexis Wolfley
Heritage University

Brandi Woodward
Thomas Jefferson University


Whitney Bagby
University of California, San Francisco

Julie Bremer
University of Colorado, Anschutz

Alexander Chianese
University of Pennsylvania

Dana Frank
University of Maryland, Baltimore

Jessica Gordon
Johns Hopkins University

Gerardo Guerrero
University of Iowa

Mary Hall
Ohio University

Jodene Jensen
Duke University

Elizabeth Lessman
Boston College

April Snell
University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Alexandra Taylor
Vanderbilt University

Anthony Trigueiro
Gonzaga University

Lindsay Van Parys
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Shawuanna Williams-Lewis
University of South Alabama

Sheena Wood
MGH Institute of Health Professions

This scholarship, funded by industry sponsors, provided registration for the APNA 35th Annual Conference and one year of complimentary membership in APNA.

APNA Industry Sponsored Scholarship 2021 Recipient

Neurocrine Biosciences

Joshua Waddell
Graduate Student
Vanderbilt University

2020 APNA Board of Directors Student Scholars


Reilly Caten
Brigham Young University

Molly Field
University of Wisconsin – Madison

Allison Gelfarb
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Natalie Gerardi
Thomas Jefferson University

Megan Gottsacker
Kent State University

Hannah Ingle
University of Iowa

Julia Karambelas
Seattle University

Alysse Mastriano
Boston College

Glenn Agape Montero
Northern Illinois University

Josie Niedermeier
University of Alabama

Madison Pope
University of North Carolina – Wilmington

Sherry Prichodko
Aurora University

Abigail Schneider
University of Michigan School of Nursing

Ashley Van Slyke
University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing

Shawna Witt
University of Pittsburgh


Amina Aden
Arizona State University

Sheri Biggs
Samford University

Rachel Chenoweth
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Katrina Ferracane
University of Illinois at Chicago

Paula Gentile
Wilkes University

Melissa Hathhorn
Walden University

Chantal Hudak
Ohio State University

Ryan Keenan
Fairfield University

Courtney Marden
University of Utah

Nicole Perez
New York University

Marvin Solberg
Wayne State University

Carlton Spotswood
University of Southern Maine

Vicki Surgenavic
Robert Morris University

Angela Tatis
Duke University

Ramona Timberlake
University of Kansas Medical Center

2019 APNA Board of Directors Student Scholars


Randi A. Baculi
University of Texas at Arlington

Brianna Domenica Bevilaque
The Catholic University of America

William Brooke
Western Governors University

Jessica Cappucci
North Shore Community College

Julie Ariane Guerin
University of Pennsylvania

Annie Hayden
University of Pittsburgh

Andrew Kociubuk
Case Western Reserve University, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

Lisa Leidy
Wesley College

Maya Catherine Salvio
Yale School of Nursing

Michael J. Scott
Brigham Young University

Madelyn Strong
University of Kentucky

Kelsie Wilhelm
Thomas Jefferson University

Rhonda Yousef
University of Miami


Yang (Karen) Chen
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Jemma-Joy Coster
California State University, Long Beach

Kayla Cross
Maryville University

Cassandra Dziobek
University of Massachusetts Medical School Graduate School of Nursing

Griselle B. Estrada
Duquesne University School of Nursing

Sarah Geyer
Indiana Wesleyan University

Brittany Morgan Hamm
College of Nursing, University of Iowa

Katherine Hess
Chamberlain University

Kathleen Miley
University of Minnesota

Margaret Ngai
Rush University

Corina Picchiottino
The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Carrie M. Pike
Benedictine University

Dawnelle Romero Baca
New Mexico State University

Marie Smith
University of Central Florida

Lukas StormoGipson
University of California, San Francisco