Skip to Main Content
2022-Clinical-Psychopharmacology-Institute-Web-Banner-no-logo

Program & Schedule

From Discovery to Recovery: Integrating Recovery Principles into Psychopharmacology Practice

Earn up to 21 pharmacology contact hours* in-person** or virtually Thursday through Sunday.

 

Thursday, June 9
Friday, June 10
Saturday, June 11 Sunday, June 12

 

Schedule is subject to change. APNA reserves the right to make program changes as necessary, and the right to cancel sessions if events occur beyond reasonable control of APNA.
*Includes Thursday Pre-Conference Add-on, which is an additional fee.
**All in-person attendees must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 by 5/25/2022. Proof of vaccination will be requested upon arrival.
Learn More

Thursday, June 9
2.0 Contact Hours

3:00-6:30pm Eastern
2:00-5:30pm Central;1:00-4:30pm Mountain
12:00-3:30pm Pacific 
 
Registration Open

 

4:00-6:00pm Eastern
3:00-5:00pm Central;2:00-4:00pm Mountain
1:00-3:00pm Pacific
Pre-Conference Add-on*
Co-Occurring Chronic Pain and Mental Health/Substance Use Disorders: Neurobiology and Treatment Implications

Jennifer L. Jones, DNP, PMHNP-BC, CARN-AP
Explore the clinical interface between chronic pain and substance use disorders and review treatment considerations including pharmacologic and behavioral interventions.

 

6:30-8:00pm Eastern
5:30-7:00pm Central;4:30-6:00pm Mountain
3:30-5:00pm Pacific

Dinner & Product Theater 

Presentation starts at 7:00pm Eastern. Sponsored by Alkermes. No contact hours provided.

 

*Additional fee. Not included in full conference registration.

Friday, June 10
6.5 Contact Hours

7:30am-5:30pm Eastern

 

Registration Open

 

8:00-9:30am Eastern
7:00-8:30am Central; 6:00-7:30am Mountain; 5:00-6:30am Pacific
Current Concepts in Neuromodulation

Eudora Jones, DNP, RN, PMHNP-BC
Analyze neuromodulation principles, mechanisms of action, and novel treatment strategies while exploring the interface between neuromodulation and multimodal therapies.

 

9:45-11:15am Eastern
8:45-10:15am Central; 7:45-9:15am Mountain; 6:45-8:15am Pacific
KEYNOTE 
Using Meds Optimally to Support Recovery

Patricia E. Deegan, PhD
Learn to play a key role in helping to assess and support people though the challenges of using psych meds from diagnosis through recovery from someone who has experienced this road firsthand. (This presentation will be presented virtually via livestream for in-person as well as virtual attendees.)

 

11:30am-1:30pm Eastern
10:30am-12:30pm Central; 9:30-11:30am Mountain; 8:30-10:30am Pacific

Lunch & Product Theater

Presentation starts at 12:30pm Eastern. Sponsored by Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. No contact hours provided.

 

1:45-3:15pm Eastern
12:45-2:15pm Central; 11:45am-1:15pm Mountain; 10:45-12:15pm Pacific
Clinical Management of Antisocial Personality Disorder

Donald W. Black, MD
Understand clinical management of this disorder, including pharmacotherapy strategies, while considering its definition, epidemiology, and clinical features.

 

3:30-5:00pm Eastern
2:30-4:00pm Central; 1:30-3:00pm Mountain; 12:30-2:00pm Pacific  
Telemental Health Updates and Guidelines for Prescribing Across the Lifespan

Joy A. Lauerer DNP, APRN, PMHCNS-BC, Faustina Bello-Ogunu, MSN, APRN, PMHNP-BC
Hear about changes in telemental health services including prescribing challenges, updates on prescribing protocols, and case-based discussions for managing complex telehealth patients.

 

5:00-5:30pm Eastern
4:00-4:30pm Central; 3:00-3:30pm Mountain; 2:00-2:30pm Pacific

Daily Synthesis

Facilitated by Matthew Tierney, MS, CNS, ANP, PMHNP, FAAN
Tie together your learning from the day and understand how it applies to your practice.

 

6:00-7:30pm Eastern
5:00-6:30pm Central; 4:00-5:30pm Mountain; 3:00-4:30pm Pacific

Dinner & Product Theater

Presentation starts at 6:30pm Eastern. Sponsored by Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc. and Lundbeck. No contact hours provided.

Saturday, June 11
6.5 Contact Hours

7:30am-5:30pm Eastern

Registration Open

 

8:00-9:30am Eastern
7:00-8:30am Central; 6:00-7:30am Mountain; 5:00-6:30am Pacific
Integrating Recovery Principles into Your Prescribing Practice

Kris A. McLoughlin, DNP, APRN, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN
Learn about integrating recovery principles into prescribing practices which is essential for person-centered care and treatment.

 

9:45-11:15am Eastern
8:45-10:15am Central; 7:45-9:15am Mountain; 6:45-8:15am Pacific
KEYNOTE
Truths and Fallacies of Psychopharmacology

Nassir Ghaemi, MD, MPH
Learn the most common misconceptions around psychopharmacology, including the use of medications symptomatically versus disease modifying, and their implications for prescribing in clinical practice.

 

11:30am-1:30pm Eastern
10:30am-12:30pm Central; 9:30-11:30am Mountan; 8:30am-10:30am Pacific

Lunch & Product Theater

Presentation starts at 12:30pm Eastern. Sponsored by Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc. and Lundbeck. No contact hours provided.

 

1:45-3:15pm Eastern
12:45-2:15pm Central; 11:45am-1:15pm Mountain; 10:45am-12:15pm Pacific
Update on Borderline Personality Disorder: What Every Clinician Needs to Know

Mark Zimmerman, MD
Discover screening tools and evidence-based treatments for this disorder along with what to expect in clinical settings.

 

3:30-5:00pm Eastern
2:30-4:00pm Central; 1:30-3:00pm Mountain; 12:30-2:00pm Pacific
New Insights into Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder from Neuroimaging and Genomics

Philip Shaw, BM, BCh, PhD
Understand new findings from large neuroimaging studies of brain structure and function in ADHD, as well how common and rarer genetic variations play a role in its genomics. Consider current barriers that must be overcome to apply this new information to clinical nursing practice.

 

5:00-5:30pm Eastern
4:00-4:30pm Cenral; 3:00-3:30pm Mountain; 2:00-2:30pm Pacific

Daily Synthesis

Facilitated by Matthew Tierney, MS, CNS, ANP, PMHNP, FAAN
Tie together your learning from the day and understand how it applies to your practice.

 

6:00-7:30pm Eastern
5:00-6:30pm Central; 4:00-5:30pm Mountan; 3:00-4:30pm Pacific
Dinner & Product Theater

Presentation starts at 6:30pm Eastern. Sponsored by Teva Pharmaceuticals. No contact hours provided.

Sunday, June 12
6.0 Contact Hours

7:30am-3:30pm Eastern
Registration Open

 

8:00-9:30am Eastern
7:00-8:30am Central; 6:00-7:30am Mountain; 5:00-6:30am Pacific
Implementing Research Findings in Community Treatment Facilities

Delbert G. Robinson, MD
Review the challenges in implementing across 22 US states and internationally the NAVIGATE treatment model for individuals with a first episode of psychosis.

 

9:45-11:15am Eastern
8:45-10:15am Central; 7:45-9:15am Mountain; 6:45-8:15am Pacific
Treating Individuals with Eating Disorders: Insights & Challenges

Karen Jennings Mathis, PhD, APRN-CNP, PMHNP-BC
Examine pharmacological and nonpharmacological evidence-based treatments for eating disorders.

 

11:15am-12:15pm Eastern
Brunch

 

12:15-1:45pm Eastern
11:15am-12:45pm Central; 10:15am-11:45am Mountain; 9:15am-10:45am Pacific
Mixed States: When Bipolarity Complicates Depression

James Phelps, MD
Explore treatment of depression when some degree of bipolarity is present. Compare medication and non-medication approaches based on treatment guidelines and current research.

 

2:00-3:30pm Eastern
1:00-2:30pm Central; 12:00-1:30pm Mountain; 11:00am-12:30pm Pacific
Women’s Mental Health Care from Adolescence to Pregnancy and Beyond

Tanya Tanner, PhD, MBA, APN, CNM, PMHNP-BC, FACNM; Stacie Olson, DNP, APRN, PMHNP-BC
Explore women’s mental health across the lifespan from a pharmacological and psychotherapeutic woman-centered perspective, including up-to-date evidence about mental health disorders associated with the menstrual cycle, pregnancy, postpartum, and menopause.